Portal Home > Knowledgebase > Domain Name's > Who are the domain registry of america or domain renewal group ?
It has come to our attention that some of our customers are receiving letters 4-5 months before their domain name is due for renewal from "Domain Registry Of America" and "Domain Renewal Group".
These letters offer to renew your domain name when it is next up for renewal.
Please be advised PAC WebHosting LTD have not sent these letters and have no connection to the "Domain Registry Of America" or "Domain Renewal Group" whatsoever.
These companies appears to trawl the domain registry records for domain names which are shortly up for renewal and send out letters to the registrant of the domain offering to renew your domain for you.
We feel this is an attempt to defraud you the consumer into transfering your domain to themselves for a substantially higher fee - £18 for a year of .com in one letter we have seen!!
This company has been barred from conducting business operations in this way in Canada & USA and we have some links with useful reading below:-
http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2003/12/domainreg.shtm
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2004/01/06/court_bars_canadian_domain_slammer/
http://www.ftc.gov/os/2003/12/031219stipdomainreg.pdf
If your domain is with us we will invoice you for renewal when due as normal, please do not be misled by the above mentioned letters.
PAC WebHosting LTD
Add to Favourites
Print this Article